Enlighted Connect Whitelist User Groups

Whitelist User Groups are a set of users that have been added manually, one group at a time or in bulk using CSV uploads.

Whitelist User Groups are not expected to be attached to any data access object. They are often used to give a small group of users access to a feature or location by adding the whitelist to the appropriate Access Group.

Both the Basic and Advanced consoles are used to create user groups and then whitelist them.

Best practice

Whitelist User Group names should be informative and unique, and should not share the same name with the Domain User Group.

Process

Configuring Whitelist User Groups requires first creating user groups in the Basic Console, then whitelisting them using the Advanced Console.

Access

  • To add and manage Whitelist Groups, Admin users must have Global Admin, Super Client Admin, or Client Admin to add and Whitelist User Groups.
  • Admin users can only access this feature if the User and Access Management > Advanced user group and space access management setting in Basic Console is ON.

 

Create Whitelist User Groups

To add and manage Whitelist Groups, Admin users must have Global Admin, Super Client Admin, or Client Admin to add and Whitelist User Groups.

Admin users can only access this feature if the User and Access Management > Advanced user group and space access management setting in Basic Console is ON.

  1. Go to Basic Console > Access (key icon) > select Portfolio > Update
    WhitelistUserGroups1.jpg
  2. Click +Add user group.
  3. Enter the Name of the User Group, following the categorization guidelines for your organization.
  4. Select an Organization from the dropdown list.
  5. Click Save user group. Now you can Configure Whitelist User Groups as needed.

    WhitelistUserGroups2.png

Configure Whitelist User Groups

Privileged admin users can use the Advanced Console to update which groups of users are assigned to Access Groups. Admin users also can manage Whitelist User Groups by adding or removing users individually.

  • To add and manage Whitelist Groups, Admin users must have Global Admin, Super Client Admin, or Client Admin to add and Whitelist User Groups.
  • Admin users can only access this feature if the User and Access Management > Advanced user group and space access management setting in Basic Console is ON.

On this page:

Assign Whitelist User Groups to a Building Access Groups

Admin users can change which Whitelist User Groups are included in as part of the Access Group for the building.

  1. Go to Advanced Console > Access (key icon) > Select Building > Update.
    ConfigWhitelistUserGroups1.png
  2. Each Access Group that is currently configured for the chosen building will appear on the page.
    • Selecting Show Enabled User Groups, will display only the User Groups linked with that Access Group.
    • A blue checkmark appears next to groups that are assigned to this Access Group.
      ConfigWhitelistUserGroups2.png
  3. To change which User Group whitelists are included as part of the Access Group, select or deselect the checkboxes beside the desired whitelists.
  4. Click the Save Spaces button at the bottom of the page to add the selected whitelist to the Access Group.

Edit Whitelist User Groups

  1. Go to Basic Console, Access (key icon) > select Portfolio > update
  2. On the User Group list, click the name of a User Group.
  3. Click the Edit user group
  4. Update the Name of User Group, and select an Organization from the dropdown list.
  5. Click Save User Group.

EditWhitelistUserGroups.png

Add or edit Whitelist User Groups

Privileged admin users can add users to Whitelist User Groups. However, users cannot be removed from groups that were created using an organization’s email suffix.

  • To add and manage Whitelist Groups, Admin users must have Global Admin, Super Client Admin, or Client Admin to add and Whitelist User Groups.
  • Admin users can only access this feature if the User and Access Management > Advanced user group and space access management setting in Basic Console is ON.

Console admins with the appropriate permissions can add users to any Whitelist User Group. Admins can remove users from manually created User Groups, but not from groups that were created using an organization’s email suffix. 

  1. Go to Basic Console > Users
  2. Use Customer Filters to open a user list at either the portfolio or building level.
  3. Click Update.
    AddEditWhitelistUserGroups1.png
  4. In the list of users, use the Filter or Search to narrow the results.
    AddEditWhitelistUserGroups2.png
  5. Click the checkbox beside the name of each user to be edited.
  6. In the Edit Users panel, select the User Group to add the selected users to.
  7. Click Save Changes to apply the changes to all selected users.
    AddEditWhitelistUserGroups3.png

 

 

Delete Whitelist User Groups

mceclip0.png Please be aware that this action cannot be undone.

To add and manage Whitelist Groups, Admin users must have Global Admin, Super Client Admin, or Client Admin to add and Whitelist User Groups.

Admin users can only access this feature if the User and Access Management > Advanced user group and space access management setting in Basic Console is ON.

  1. Go to Basic Console, Access (key icon) > select Portfolio
  2. Click the Name of the desired User Group in the list.
  3. On the Edit User Group page, click Remove User Group. This button will only appear if the selected group type is ‘whitelist’.
    DeleteWhitelistUserGroups.png
  4. On the confirmation popup, click the Yes, remove the user group.

Add, edit, or delete User Groups via the Building Access Groups page

Once a Whitelist User Group has been added to an Access Group, the users on the whitelist can be edited.

  • To add and manage Whitelist Groups, Admin users must have Global Admin, Super Client Admin, or Client Admin to add and Whitelist User Groups.
  • Admin users can only access this feature if the User and Access Management > Advanced user group and space access management setting in Basic Console is ON.

This page shows how to perform the following actions via the Building Access Groups page:

Add users

  1. Go to Advanced Console > Building Access Groups.
  2. Under the appropriate Access Group, click the name of the whitelist in the Edit Whitelist User Groups.
    UserGroupsBldgAccessGrpsPage1.png
  3. To add a single user to the whitelist, enter their First Name, Last Name and Email.
  4. Click Add.
    UserGroupsBldgAccessGrpsPage2.png
  5. Click Save Changes to User Group at the bottom of the popup.

Add or edit users in bulk via CSV

  1. On the Building Access Groups page, under the appropriate Access Group, click the name of the whitelist in the Edit Whitelist User Groups.
    UserGroupsBldgAccessGrpsPage3.png
  2. In the Edit User Group Whitelist popup, click the Download User’s CSV.
    UserGroupsBldgAccessGrpsPage4.png
  3. Open the CSV file on your computer and make updates to the user details. Delete rows for any users to be removed from the whitelist.
  4. When you are finished make updates to the CSV file, return to the Edit User Group Whitelist popup, and upload the file from your computer. 
  5. To remove any users that have been deleted from the CSV file, select the Remove all users not on this list
  6. Click Add All.
  7. Click the Save Changes to User Group.

Delete a single user from the Whitelist

  1. On the Building Access Groups page > Edit Whitelist User Groups field, click the name of the whitelist.
  2. In the Edit User Group Whitelist popup, check the Delete? checkbox for the user in the list.
  3. Click Save Changes to User Group.
    UserGroupsBldgAccessGrpsPage5.png